Fan the Flame

1465083724812

You cannot love anyone until you love yourself. Everyone seems to give that advice, but what does that even mean? I mean, even when I want to crawl out of my own skin I still love my family and friends.

This question leads me to a conversation I had with my husband the other day. We were talking about the roller coaster that is marriage, or any relationship for that matter. All the highs, lows, and “mehs” were reflected on. When all was said and done, the light bulb went off and we realized our marriage was at its best when we were at our best.

For instance, my husband has been a fireman since he was in the womb. He can sniff out an emergency situation like I could a carton of ice cream when I was pregnant. Anyway, when we got married and moved, he had given up a lot of his involvement in the fire department. Then, last spring he went to fireman school and got certified as a fireman in Ohio. Throughout this whole process, he was so excited and happy. In general, he had more energy and a positive outlook on life. Now, I don’t know the first thing about fire fighting (aside from those calendars they sell for charity with the department’s best 😉 ), but I know it made me happy, too. It was so awesome supporting his passions and dreams and feeling like I was apart of them. Consequently, during this time in our marriage we spent a little less time together, but the time we did spent was quality and full of happy memories.

This leads me to believe, you CAN love others and feel less than stellar about yourself. But to have that happy, quality kind of love, you need to take time to do things for YOU. Yes, these activities take some time away from family and friends, but they make a better YOU. You grow to love yourself more and be the best you. When you’re a better you, you can be a better family member and friend. And while you are falling in love with yourself again, so are your loved ones.

 

XOXO,

Samantha Jo

P.S. What are things you love to do that will make you fall in love with you all over again?

Leave a Reply

